Yamaha Targets 5th Straight Suzuka 8 Hours Win

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Yamaha has announced its line-up for this year’s 42nd Suzuka 8 Hours Endurance Race, which will take place from July 25th to 28th at the legendary Suzuka Circuit in Mie Prefecture, Japan.

The #21 Yamaha Factory Racing Team will be aiming to take an unprecedented fifth consecutive victory at the event and will be joined on the track by the #7 YART Yamaha Official EWC Team as part of their 2018–2019 Endurance World Championship (EWC) season.

The factory team’s YZF-R1 will sport a special revival of the 1985 Yamaha TECH21 Team livery as a nod to the origin of the team’s iconic #21 race number, as well as to mark 21 years since the YZF-R1 was first released.

The factory team will field the same winning line-up for the third time since 2017, with Katsuyuki Nakasuga, Alex Lowes and Michael van der Mark. YART’s riding team will consist of Broc Parkes, Marvin Fritz and Niccolò Canepa.

Three EWC rounds have already been completed, with YART staging a dramatic comeback to finish 2nd at the grueling 24 Hour Bol d’Or. They also secured another spectacular win at the 8 Hours of Slovakia Ring, leaving the team 4th in the points standings.

Comments are closed.