Pauls Jonass wins MX2 in Loket

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pauls Jonass came back to Loket track with a vengeance. Jonass who had a season ended crash here last year started the day in the top 5 off the start of race 1.

Ahead of Jonass on the first lap was HSF Motorsport Team's Brian Bogers, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing's Thomas Covington, and his Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Teammate Jorge Prado.

Covington, who struggled to pass Prado during Saturday's qualifying race, made quick work of the #61 jumping into the lead on 2nd lap. Covington grew his lead to a considerable margin over the field and cruised to the race win.
Meanwhile Jonass first passed Bogers, who dropped to 7th by the finish, and then passed his teammate Prado. The two KTM’s stayed 2nd and 3rd to the checkered flag.

Behind them was another Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing bike belonging to Thomas Kjer Olsen. Team Suzuki World MX2’s Jeremy Seewer took the fifth spot after a frustrating start.

In race 2 another Rockstar Energy Husqvarna took the FOX Holeshot but this time it was that of Conrad Mewse. Mewse however would drop to 12th by the finish while his teammate Covington had a bad start and finished 10th. Covington in the press conference said: “I felt really good yesterday in the qualifying race and then again in the first moto this morning. I didn’t think I was going to get on the podium and got lucky after getting back to 10th in race 2."

Prado led the first lap but was again passed by his teammate Jonass who opened a gap. While Prado was second Jeremy Seewer was right on his back wheel. Seewer tried to pass Prado numerous times but was shut out by the young Spaniard.

Pauls Jonass was the one who claimed the overall with an unbeatable 2-1 result. Jonass in the press conference said: “I felt really good all weekend, starting with qualifying yesterday I really enjoyed it. In the end I just controlled the race and got the win.”

MX2 Overall Top Ten (CzechGP):
1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 47 points; 2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 38 p.; 3. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 36 p.; 4. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 35 p.; 5. Jorge Prado Garcia (ESP, KTM), 35 p.; 6. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 32 p.; 7. Hunter Lawrence (AUS, SUZ), 26 p.; 8. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 26 p.; 9. Marshal Weltin (USA, KAW), 20 p.; 10. Conrad Mewse (GBR, HUS), 20 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten:
1. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 548 points; 2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 501 p.; 3. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 403 p.; 4. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 398 p.; 5. Julien Lieber (BEL, KTM), 374 p.; 6. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 339 p.; 7. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 273 p.; 8. Jorge Prado Garcia (ESP, KTM), 268 p.; 9. Brent Van doninck (BEL, YAM), 226 p.; 10. Hunter Lawrence (AUS, SUZ), 225 p.

MX2 Manufacturers:
1. KTM, 597 points; 2. Suzuki, 516 p.; 3. Husqvarna, 487 p.; 4. Yamaha, 445 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 306 p.; 6. Honda, 216 p.; 7. TM, 124 p.


Leave a comment